High-profile leaders in the running for CED’s Leadership Award 2015

| May 26, 2015

Award rev.The Cycling Embassy of Denmark has received nominations for our Leadership Award for Cycling Promotion from near and far this year. The winner will be announced during the Velo-city conference in Nantes in early June.

Serious leaders across the globe

“I want to thank everyone who has taken time to nominate a candidate. The Cycling Embassy of Denmark is thrilled and honored to have so many high-profile candidates to choose from this year. It not only reflects that the Leadership Award for Cycling Promotion is a coveted prize, but also that leaders around the world are taking cycling more and more serious as a mode of transport,” says chairman of the Cycling Embassy of Denmark, Marianne Weinreich.

And the nominees are…

  • Philipe Crist, International Transport Forum
  • Cor Van der Klaauvs, Gröningen, Netherlands
  • Luk Lemmens, member of the executive council of the province of Antwerp, Belgium
  • Francis Chu and Woon Taiwoon, LovecyclingSG (LCSG), Singapore
  • Danny Kennedy, Minister for Regional Development, Northern Ireland
  • Christophe Najdovski, Deputy Mayor of Paris for Transport
  • The Green Shakti Foundation, Dehli, India
  • Governor Tokihiro Nakamura, Japan
  • Cesar Ricardo Criollo Preciado, Colombia
  • Khoo Teng Chye, Director of Centre for Liveable Cities, Singapore
  • Project “CICLO DE LA CICLA”, Colombia

The winner will be announced at the Velo-city conference in Nantes in early June. For those not attending, you can stay updated at our website or social media.

Former award winners

Previous award winners include New York City’s former Mayor Mike BloombergRoelof Wittink of the Dutch Cycling Embassy,Lake Sagaris from Ciudad Viva, and Randy Neufeld from the SRAM Cycling Fund and Mayor of  Münich, Hep Monatzeder, and Tony Lo from Giants.

Category: Events with the Participation of the Cycling Embassy, Uncategorized