Call for nominees: Leadership Award for Cycling Promotion 2013

| March 19, 2013

This summer, the Cycling Embassy of Denmark will award an individual or an organisation with the Leadership Award for Cycling Promotion 2013 for the fifth time. But we need your help to nominate the truly dedicated cycling promoters. Who is to follow the previous winners, Mayor Michael Bloomberg, New York City; Roelof Wittink, Dutch Cycling Embassy; Lake Sagaris, Ciudad Viva; and Randy Neufeld, SRAM Cycling Fund?

Award ceremony in Vienna
On 11-14 June, urban planners, NGOs, and bicycle experts will convene in Vienna for the Velo-city 2013 conference. Keeping with the tradition, the Cycling Embassy of Denmark will announce the winner of the Leadership Award for Cycling Promotion 2013 during the conference.

This is your chance to tell us who you think should be honoured with the award this year. All we need from you is a short e-mail describing the individual or organisation you believe deserves the award, and why. Please send your nomination for this year’s award to not later than April 26, 2013.

Former award winners
Previous award winners include New York City’s Mayor Mike Bloomberg, Roelof Wittink of the Dutch Cycling Embassy, Lake Sagaris from Ciudad Viva, and Randy Neufeld from the SRAM Cycling Fund.

In 2012, chairman of the Cycling Embassy of Denmark, Troels Andersen, gave this motivation for honouring Randy Neufeld:

“This year, the award goes to a man who has a hands-on approach to cycling promotion, and who is always ready to support cycling-promotion initiatives. Since the start of his career as a cycling advocate, he has inspired by his example and has gone from being an activist to being an extremely influential figure for decision makers shaping transportation policy. His continuous personal and professional devotion to promotion of cycling – from Chicago to Eastern Europe – has made him the natural choice for this year’s award.”

But who is next? The word is yours:

Tags: , ,

Category: Newsletter 10

Comments are closed.